cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help: A failure occurred querying the Writer status

Reid_Li
Level 2
Hi there,
I'm a support engineer in Microsoft, and my Customer meet a problem of Veritas Backup Exec 10.

It's Windows 2003 SP1, Exchange 2003 SP1, Veritas Backup Exec 10 fully patched.

I let him test the NTBackup to backup the Exchange database. It works properly.

However, every evening, he may get an error form Veritas Backup Exec 10 as following:

"The job failed with the following error: A failure occurred querying the Writer status."
"Writer Name: Exchange Server, Writer ID: {76FE1AC4-15F7-4BCD-987E-8E1ACB462FB7}, Last error: The VSS Writer failed, but the operation can be retried (0x800423f3), State: Failed during prepare backup operation (7). Consult your Microsoft documentation for details. Check the Windows Event Viewer for corresponding application or system errors."

I have searched the internet and found in a newgroup that this issue can be resolved by hot fix KB826936 and KB833167. However, these two hot fixes are included in Windows 2003 SP1.

Please help me resolve this issue. Thanks very much.

Below is the Customer's words
=======================================
I am running Exchange 2003, SP1 on a Windows 2003, SP1 server. I am using Veritas Backup Exec 10 fully patched. I am having failures in my backups from a query writer error. The failures occurs every evening. Here is a copy of the error code, "The job failed with the following error: A failure occurred querying the Writer status." A more detailed error is as follows, "Writer Name: Exchange Server, Writer ID: {76FE1AC4-15F7-4BCD-987E-8E1ACB462FB7}, Last error: The VSS Writer failed, but the operation can be retried (0x800423f3), State: Failed during prepare backup operation (7). Consult your Microsoft documentation for details. Check the Windows Event Viewer for corresponding application or system errors."