cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem on Backup Exec 2010 (Media Sets)

AndyLi
Level 2

I'm a beginner to use this software. Currently, I just replace a new tape in my HP 1/8 G2 Autoloader for full backup. After that, I try to "Inventory"  8 slots, but in this new tape's slot which becomes "Scratch Media" on "Online Media", I checked with "Help" menu that implying this is a "Blank Tape". The old tape I took out which is located at "Offline Media" right now. So, I try to label the "Scratch Media" with the previous label name and the same time I try to associate it with "Media Set". The question is I check with those "Help" menu in which it mentions "Note: Associating scratch or imported media with a media set is not recommended.
Backup Exec automatically associates scratch or imported media with a media set
when a backup job requires it."  Should I have to associate it or not?

Andy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

When you insert a blank tape in the library Backup Exec associates that tape with the scratch

media set. You should link a media set with a backup job and not with the tapes.

When you run a backup job Backup Exec pulls a tape from the scratch media set and

associates that tape with a media set which is selected in the backup job.

After backup job is completed the media remain in the associated media set and inhertits

the properties(overwrite protect period and append period) of the media set.

Some more information on Media sets http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH5459

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

AmolB

When you insert a blank tape in the library Backup Exec associates that tape with the scratch

media set. You should link a media set with a backup job and not with the tapes.

When you run a backup job Backup Exec pulls a tape from the scratch media set and

associates that tape with a media set which is selected in the backup job.