Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions : Backup EXEC 2012

Phu_Nguyen
Level 4

Hi All,

I am pretty new to Backup Exec, can you help me to clarify points below:

1. What is simplified disaster recovery ? how usefull it is in restore process ?
  2. What should i backup for SharePoint 2010 ?
  3. What recommendation on backup for SQL 2008 ?
  4. I am using backup exec 2012 to backup my virtual servers on VMWARE Vphere 5 and i learn that Backup exec 2012 provides conversion to virtual, what is it really mean ? Because when i try this option, i asked me to specify vcenter/esxi, database etc, it seems like backup exec will convert my fullbackup to a VM on VMFS store.

Thanks all very much.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

During the SDR restore process, you will be given a chance to choose whichever .dr file that you want, so you can choose the .dr file that is created by the latest backup.

To restore from your old backup, see my article.

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/articles/be-2012-restoring-data-defunct-server

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

pkh
   VIP    Certified

1) SDR will automate your recovery.  You just need to boot-up from the SDR bootable DVD and it will pull the necessary backup sets to recover your server.

2) You should backup the Sharepoint farm.  You would need to have an agent for applications and databases licence per farm to do so.

3) Again, for each server that you have SQL databases on, you would need to have an agent for applications and databases licence per farm to do so.   After you have installed the agent licence, you can choose the instance/database to backup.

4) The P2V and B2V conversion is more for converting physical machines to VM's  If you are already backing up VM's, then you don't need this facility.

Phu_Nguyen
Level 4

Hi PKH,

Thanks for your reply, but could you explain a little bit more about SDR and SDR bootable DVD ?

Thanks,

pkh