cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shared Devices Between Managed Media Servers

pperalta
Level 2

Hi Symantec Community,

I'm new to Symantec and was wondering if someone out there could help me out.  I started a new position and am trying to understand how the previous backup administrator architected the environment.  More specifically, I am trying to figure out the logic on how a media server is selected to write to a device when the device is shared between two media servers.  

Here's the scenario.  We are backing up data from servers and writing them to a dedupe appliance at the local site, however it is using a remote media server to write the data to the dedupe appliance.  So, it is passing the data over the WAN twice before it lands on the dedupe appliance.  From what I can tell the local media server and the remote media server both can see the dedupe appliance (destination).

I am trying to understand why it is not using the local media server if it can also see the dedupe appliance.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

pperalta

3 REPLIES 3

pkh
   VIP    Certified

From what you described, it is indeed strange to use the remote media server to do the backup and write to the local dedup appliance.  I am afraid you would have to consult your predessor as to the logic of this arrangement.

If you cannot figure out why the remote media server is used, try switching the job to the local media server and see what happens.

Colin_Weaver
Employee Accredited Certified

If the remote media server is a CASO server (ESO license installed) then it may just be managng the jobs that the appliance runs and not actually running them.

Other than that a typical scenario (which also uses a CASO) would be