cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Slow speed over Remote Backup

HP
Level 2
Hi there,

I have extremly slow speed backing up my 2nd server over Remote Agent. My setup is HP ML350G4p working as DC and there is a HP Ultrium 448 conencted to it - it's also on this server my Backup Exec is installed.

I have a Gigabit connection to my other server. That one is a HP ML350G5.

After I have done some reading in this forum (some threds about the same problem) I have updated the drivers and firmware for both SmartArray controllers in the two servers. But still I only get between 15 and 30 MB/min. Whene the backup is backing up data on the local server (the server where the Ultrium 448 is installed) I get between 550 and 650 MB/min.

I have also updated the NIC's in both servers - still the same problem.

I'm kinda new to Backup Exec (my first install) - so please let me know if there is something else I should pay attention to.

If anybody can help me out here - I would be very pleased :)

P.S. I'm using Backup Exec 11d
6 REPLIES 6

Dave_Grams_2
Level 4
Hey HP

The good news is that if you are running a local backup, and you are getting data speeds to your tape drive, that the issue should not be with your controller/drivers.

Its probably moreso with your network settings.

In Windows, are your Gig NICs set to AutoNegotiate Speeds, or set to 1000MB?
Do you have multiple NICs in this server that is backing up? 
In the BE backup job, you can specify which NIC in particular you are using for the backup.
Some other people mentioned in some threads that if you go into the NIC settings in Windows, and
have it talk at Half Duplex, that there is less chatter and sometimes can help speed things up.

Every time I tried this (which turned out wasnt my problem anyways) I notcied that if you drop to half duplex,
that you also drop down to the 100Megabit range for network speeds.