cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Symantec Backup Exec 2012 does not pick up media assigned to media set

ali_hassan
Level 4

Hello Everyone,

I am still very new to BE and after working with Netbackup for years I have been given the challenge to manage Symantec BE now...

Ok here is what is goin on, I have a file data job which takes about 14 Lto5 tapes to complete (yes we have loads of data!!) and what seems to be happening is that at first I had assigned all the 15 tapes to a Media Set and started the backup and it failed... then I erased on of those 14 tapes and moved it to scratch media and then started the backup and this time it picked up that one tape and started the backup...but again when the tape was full it was looking for another "scratch media" and it stopped and only when I erased the next tape the backup continued...

Do we have any option to over come this limitation? So that the desired backup job takes media assigned to a "Media Set" and does not always look for scratch media?

Thanks

A

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified
Yes. If you change the seeing to use recyclable media then it will use the overwritable tapes in the targeted media set, but these tapes must be overwritable BEFORE the start of your jobs. You have to set the OPP correctly

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Firstly, do not assign tapes to a media set prior to the backup job.

Secondly, set the media protection level to "partial" and "overwrite recyclable media before scratch media" under the global options.

And in the backup job, set the backup to append to media, else overwrite if no appendable media available.

Have a look @ these KBs as well -

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO98895

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH5459

ali_hassan
Level 4

Hi VJ,

Thanks for your reply! :)