cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tape Capacity

Varadero
Level 3

Hi guys,

I am new to BE, what needs to be done when your tape media is running out of free space?

If the media Proteccion Period is overwriteable and Append Period is setup to Infinite Append, doesn't matter the free space is not enough? Will the oldest records be deleted?

I did a lot of research but I don't find the answer, it's all going around how the Proteccion Period is setup or the Append Period. 

All of my tapes are almost full, not enough free space for next backup job.

I would like to know which is the best practice in this case.

Thanks for your help

V

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

When you specify Append, Otherwise Overwrite in your job, BE will look for an appendable tape in the targeted media set.  If it cannot find one, then it will look for an overwritable tape.

I would suggest that you forget about appending to tapes for the moment, specify overwrite in your jobs and get your OPP setting correct before attempting to append to your tapes.

Do read the document referenced earlier carefully and understand it.  This is crucial.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi V,

No, data is not selectively deleted off a tape. The OPP protects a tape for a certain period, and the Append allows data to be added to a tape.Once a tape is full, it can't be used until it is overwritable again.

See the TN below for more information:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH5459

The tape capacity is also subject to the type of data being backed up. An LTO4 tape, for instance, can hold 800GB uncompressed, and with 2:1 it will hold 1.6TB. You won't get this in the real world.

Thanks!

pkh
   VIP    Certified