cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total Noob in Backup Exec Help.

darkvicoamao
Level 3

Hi, i'm totally new to backup exec, i have problem understanding some concepts about backup exec.

I 'm been reading the backup exec admin guide, but only produce more questions, i want to have some good deployment help, including the creation of polices and how to about setup some tape slots for backup.

I need to create a complete backup strategy for my company.

I have backup exec 2010 r2 quickstart edition and quantum superloader 3.

Any help will be apreciate.

Thanks for all, and sorry for my bad english.

Amaury

Dominican Republic

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

darkvicoamao
Level 3

Thanks for that info, i think i go to start some backup test jobs, and obtain some real world skills.

Thanks for the info.

View solution in original post

18 REPLIES 18

pkh
   VIP    Certified

I am afraid nobody will be able to tell you how to backup your system because we don't know what data is involved and how long you need to keep the data.   You would need to ask more specific questions.

Also note that the quickstart edition is only good for simple backups and restores.  It does not handle backups of databases, like SQL or Exchange.

darkvicoamao
Level 3

Thanks for the fast response, i know nobody go to tell me what i need to backup in my enviroment, but i want to know how to setup a backup policy, example:

I want to know what is the best practices for working with tape drives, do you recomend to partition the slots in the tape drive?

Thanks for the interest.

Amaury

pkh
   VIP    Certified

Personally, I would not partition a library, but some other users would.

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

I personally do partition my autoloader, simply to keep things logical. It makes it easier to speak to a non-IT person as well when telling them how the hardware is configured, and where they must put the tapes/remove them.