cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Two isses 1 with not able to append and overwrite option not showing under restore

Dkromm
Level 3
I am fairly new to backup exec but have managed to get it almost working how i want but am having major issues with it still. Here is or back up stragey

Monday - Thursday, Saturday and Sunday
we do a full back up of our SQL server, 1 of our file servers and our Exchange server.
we do differential back up of our big file server.

Friday
we do a full back up of our SQL server, both file servers and our exchange server

We are using an HP storage works 1/8 Autoloader, partitioned as follows

Slot 1 and 2 are 1 partition
3,4,5,6,7,8 are all there own indavidual partions so we. Each job is assigned to a specific partition with friday getting slot 1 and 2 and the back up is over 500 Gigs.

The problem is if i set the jobs to overwrite everything works fine except for some reason it is hit or miss if they will appear in the restore there for i cant restore anything so if anyone know the answer to this that would be great.

the other problem is if i set them to append and overwrite if no appednable media avaliable the friday file server job will not run all the rest run just fine but the big file server job will get to like 380gigs and stop and ask for a appendable tape. I tried doing a quick erase on both tapes then wrote a small job to them and they both went to infinite allow append, the back up job ran and they went back to Not appendable.

We run a 4 week rotation on our tape system.

the Media set is set as follows
Overwrite protection period none

append period none Infinite allow append.

am i missing somthing here should i set this up a different way any help would be great.

we are not concerned with over writing our media as by the time we use it again it is 4 weeks old so if anyone can help with the overwrite option not appearing on restore that might be easier

thank you so much.
8 REPLIES 8