cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to add tape library robot

Wumpus
Level 0

Hello Forum!

Im a sysadmin and I use my good old Backup Exec 2010 with a 24 slot Dell Powervault TL 2000 Robotic Tape Library and 2 LTO4 Drives (on a Windows Server 2008 R2). The Dell Library is attached to te Etherenet Network. Further the 2 LT04 drives in the library are attached via SAS cards directly to the Server. This worked well many years.

Now we have a new Tape Robotic Library,  a Fujitsu Siemens Eternus LC40 LTO7 with 24 slots and 2 LTO7 drives (yeah!).

It was bought for another machine but I would like to use it also with this older Windows machine. Ive plugged the SAS cables from the Windows machine onto the two drives. The new Tape Robotic Library is also on the Ethernet network.

I installed all the drivers for the drives I have into Windows.

Now I see this:

When the old Dell Robotic Libraryis switched off and the new Eternus Robotic Library is switched on:
In the Windows device drivers a Robotic tape Library shows up as "Unknown Medium Changer" in the properties it says its at Location 2 (Bus Number 0, Target Id 10, LUN 1).

I am unsure if thats the old Dell or the new Eternus (I guess the new one as the old one is off?).

Also under Tape drives I see the two LTO7 Ultrium HH7 Drives.

All these entries in the device drivers have no red or yellow icons - they are working correctly.

In BackupExec I see both new LTO7 tape drives and I can make a new device pool out of them.

However what I cant seem to do is add a new Robotic library. How do i do that?

I tried the Configure Devices wizard and click Tape Devices, then "Configure Robotic library drives" - then the drives show up as "Stand alone Drives". Then the wizard completes and nothing has been added. Whatever I do It doesnt seem to create me the same Icon as the old Dell Robotic Library has.