cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to associate with media set BE 2012

Dazzo
Level 2

Hello all,

I'm new to the administering BE environment and I've come accross a problem with one of the servers.

Windows Server 2k3 with Backup exec 2012 installed. Recently (past 2 weeks) the backup's have been failing as the tapes are being automatically ejected before the backup even starts. Today 2 minutes after tape insert. I have looked all over BE to see if I can find any reason for this as the alerts are vague at best and there is no listed error's, warnings or information in event viewer.

I found that all of the tapes have moved from the user created media set into the standard 'Backup Exec and Windows NT Backup Media', of course setting all tapes to infinate do not overwrite and not appendable. I decided to try troubleshoot and move the disks back to the user created media set but the option is greyed out.

Any advice on where I can go from here? I couldn't find the R version only that it was listed as version 14 Rev. 1798 (32 bit).

Kind Regards,

Darren

8 REPLIES 8

Sush---
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Hello Darren,

Are you using RDX drives for backups??

If yes then please check the following technote

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH191711 : Backup job targeted to RDX disk cartridge may show the FLDR media under 'Backup Exec and Windows NT' media set OR a custom media set

This is By-design.

Regards,

-Sush...

CraigV
Partner    VIP    Accredited

Hi,

If this is a physical tape drive, then stop the BE services and run the vendor diagnostics against the drive. You should be looking to do the following:

1. Write test;

2. Diagnostic test to rule out hardware issues;

Once done, erase a tape through the same vendor diagnostic utility, and then start up the BE services. Try running the job again.

Since this is Windows Server 2003 you need to stop the RSM service as well.

Thanks!

Dazzo
Level 2