cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What should be incilded in a daily backup

jwhausk
Level 2

OK I am new at this so I have been just using what my predecessor had set up but it is very inconsistent sometimes the Utility Partition and System State were selected, sometimes just one of them and sometimes none.  So what should be includes in a daily full backup of each server.

We use a tape backup system with 8 tapes.

We use a 14 day rotation of the tapes.

From our "C" "D" drive we have selected the needed folders and files.

Do I need the utility partition? Do I need the System State?

What should be selected on our Microsoft Exchange server?  I only have the "Microsoft Information Store" selected.

I do a monthly fully selected backup for each orf our servers for disaster recovery.

Thank you for your sugestions!

JW

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

pkh
   VIP    Certified

If you select bits and pieces of files/folders to backup, then there is a good chance that you may not back up enough to recover the server, meaning rebuild the server after it is completely wiped out.

Usually the minimum to recover a server is the entire C: drive and system state, but depending on how the server is configured, there may be other critical pieces on other drives.  Hence the best indicator of whether your backup is sufficient to recover your server is the SDR indicator (top right hand corner of the selection list screen).  If it is green, then this backup is sufficient.  Otherwise, there may be critical pieces missing from the backup.

The uility partition is optional.  You can load the utility partition from scratch before recovering the server.