cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

backup exec stuck every few weeks

Omerino
Level 3
I got a backupexec 2012 installed on server 2008 which is DC&GC. Tge abive is backing up 5 serversv 2 DC's + 1 Exchange 2010 + 2 other servers to network share. All is working fine jobs are finished successfully but every couple of weeks jobs are stuck in queded cant cancel them. I need to restart backupexec services a few times thats the only thing that helps. Need your techinical help. P.s we wont to upgrade to backupexec 15 and move it to a new 2012 server witout lossing database and configration any guide on how to achive that ? Im a newbie with this software.
3 REPLIES 3

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Are there any outstanding alerts when the job gets in a "queued" status ?

Check the event viewer as well for any relevant events such as storage device being temporarily offline etc, which can lead the jobs to a queued status.

Lastly, you can upgrade to BE 15 on the same server and then move it to a new Win 2012 server without losing any data. This KB can be followed - https://support.symantec.com/en_US/article.TECH129826.html

Omerino
Level 3

i'm gettings this error's

Backup Exec Alert: Storage Warning
(Server: "dc2") This computer does not have enough physical memory to support deduplication disk storage.  1.5GB of physical memory is required for each 1TB of deduplication disk storage, with a minimum requirement of 8GB of physical memory.

maybe this is the reason?

the job errors event i get is

Backup Exec Alert: Job Failed
(Server: "dc2") (Job: "printsrv2) Backup Policy for Data-6-Incremental -- The job failed with the following error: Unspecified error

Backup Exec Alert: Job Warning