cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

confused.. need help

danisimo
Level 3

Hello,

I am a newbie here. I just recently took over the responsibility of backing up exchange 2003 using BackupExec 2010 version 13.0. I am doing my best trying to learn how to manage BackupExec. I have a few questions

1. There are daily, weekly, and monthly backup jobs for exchange. I did not set it up this way. I am not sure if this is the best way of backing up exchange but isnt each backup job doing a full backup of exchange, so why have daily, weekly, monthly?
  2. If there should be a daily, weekly, and monthly backup jobs for exchange, how to define their media set periods ? would daily means overwrite protection: 5 days and append period: 5 days?
  3. I have learned about GRT: creates IMG folders and .bkf files for restoring individual mailboxes. the B2D folder is full and the IMG folders are not following the media overwrite protection period rule. How can I avoid this?

If I am missing anything about exchange backup, can you please clarify to me what I must also do. I feel like I am not on the right track in terms of backing up exchange

Thanks for your time

4 REPLIES 4

Kiran_Bandi
Level 6
Partner Accredited

1) Daily backups may be incremental / difeerential. 2) Depending upon the retention period requirements. Means how many days you want to keep your backup images. 3)About IMG folders refer this TN: http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH66499 Regards...

AmolB
Employee Accredited Certified

1) As a common backup strategy most of the admins configure daily incremental, weekly full

and monthly full. Although weekly and monthly are full but monthly must be having longer retention 

period. Backup strategy completely depends on the company policy and storage affordability.

2) Again the media set properties will depend on the retention policy, how long your company would