cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

error - mount failed user canceled a physical volume library operation

Hassan_Ali
Level 3
My backup tapes run fine everyday(5 days a week), but a month or 2 ago the Tuesday backup failed a few times. I thought it was the tape (which was brand new) so threw this in the bin and used another brand new tape. Worked fine I think for the first 3 times then it started failing to backup once again ONLY on Tuesday's. I have checked all settings to see if they match the other day's settings (in Job Setup) and all seems fine. Now I cannot have 2 faulty brand new tapes. We use a Sony Tape drive. The error in the subject line appears in Job Monitor\Job Log. PLEASE HELP! I am still a novice with Veritas so please provide instructions of what you want me to do. I did a 1gig read/write test (utility tool by Sony software) and this has worked fine on the Tuesday's tape.
11 REPLIES 11

Amruta_Purandar
Level 6
Hello,

Please refer the following technote and verify the possible causes for this issue.
Title:
"User canceled a Physical Volume Library operation" (a000810f HEX or e000810f HEX) is reported in the backup job log when attempting to run a backup operation.
http://support.veritas.com/docs/246967

Do revert with the results.

Additional Information :
For information on the recent VERITAS Backup Exec security vulnerabilities, including links to the downloads for the necessary hotfixes, please refer to the following document:
Patch summary for Security Advisories VX05-001, VX05-002, VX05-003, VX05-005, VX05-006, VX05-007

http://seer.support.veritas.com/docs/277429.htm

NOTE : If we do not receive your reply within two business days, this post would be marked assumed answered and would be moved to answered questions pool.

Hassan_Ali
Level 3
I get the following in Event Viewer:(********** = edited server name)

Event Type:Information
Event Source:Backup Exec
Event Category:None
Event ID:58061
Date:06/07/2005