cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

not sure if I want Backup Exec

cheyguy2308
Level 2

I am new to this product and am still using an older version that we didn't know we purchased.  I'm trying to see if it fits for what I need.  I want a Grandfather, father, son approach and need a daily incremental, weekly full(retain for THREE weeks) and monthly full (retain for THREE months).  I saw the built-in template for this and all I did was modify the destination to my custom folders.  Because I am under a huge time constraint, all I want to do right now is backup to disk folder.  My questions are(also, if it matters I have a mix of 2003 and 2008 servers that I am wanting to share an 11TB NAS):

1) how are the media sets treated for backing up to folder/NAS?  I think I am supposed to choose append/no overwrite but more importantly, will my file grow in size or will it be a number of separate backup files in the same directory?

2) am I looking at limitations with backing up 15 or more servers to one huge amount of space on a NAS? Can multiple backups take place to the same location (just different folders)?

3) and is there any way to change the retention of the media to a custom time rather than the 1 or 4 weeks?  Again, I only want to keep my fulls for 3 cycles(3 weekly fridays and 3 monthlys)

4) will this version get me what I need and will I need a license for each server I want to backup?

Thanks in advance for your help!

4 REPLIES 4

teiva-boy
Level 6

BackupExec can do everything you need it to do and more.  It can work with a grandfather/father/son scheme, you can assign different retentions for each policy (it can overwrite or append)  This is all governed by the media sets and their respective overwrite protection periods.