cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CPS server

shiv124
Level 4

Can some body throw some light on CPS server.What are the requirements to build CPS.

I am new to VCS.

I am planning to configure CPS fencing for my cluster

Thanks and regards,

Siva

4 REPLIES 4

PranavPeshwe
Not applicable
Employee

Hi Siva,

Here is an excerpt about CP servers, from the VCS admin guide:

'The coordination point server (CP server) is a software solution which runs on a remote system or cluster. CP server provides arbitration functionality by allowing the VCS cluster nodes to perform the following tasks:
Self-register to become a member of an active VCS cluster (registered with CP server) with access to the data drives

Check which other nodes are registered as members of this active VCS cluster

Self-unregister from this active VCS cluster

Forcefully unregister other nodes (preempt) as members of this active VCS cluster

In short, the CP server functions as another arbitration mechanism that integrates within the existing I/O fencing module.'

VCS install and admin guides have information regarding how to configure and use CP servers (sometimes referred to as 'CPS') in a VCS cluster.

Hope that helps.

Kindly revert in case you have any further query.

Thanks and regards,
Pranav

AHerr
Level 5
Employee Accredited Certified

Hi Siva,