Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fileshare vs CompositeFileShare

mokkan
Level 6
Certified

Hi,

I am new to Windows Fileshare and compositeFile Share.  What are the diffrences between Windows fileshare and CompositeFileShare?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Correct, but you don't have to use Compositefileshare, you can use FileShare - you only need Compositefileshare if you have multiple shares that are not all in one directory and you would prefer one resource rather than lots.

Mike

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

mokkan
Level 6
Certified

Windows admin team can manage the File Share using windows tools right? why do we need to use Fileshare or CompositeFileShare ?

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

FileShare managers one share and CompositeFileShare manages multiple shares.  Note both types can share subdirectories, so you can for instance share out home set "ShareSubdirectories" attribute so that  shares are created for all user folders in home directory.  See bundled agents guide for more information which gives examples:

Example Fileshare (sharing ONE share "ToShare")

FileShare FileShare_SG-FileShare (
PathName = "\\ToShare"
ShareName = ToShare
LanmanResName = FileShare_SG-Lanman
MaxUsers = 100
MountResName = FileShare_SG-MountV
UserPermissions = { "VCSNET\\Administrator" = READ_ACCESS }
ShareSubdirectories = 1
HideChildShares = 1
AccessBasedEnumeration = 1
)

Example CompositeFileShare (sharing TWO shares - share2 and share3)

CompositeCFS CFS-RES (
Critical = 1
LanmanResName = CFS_SG-Lanman
MountResName = CFS_SG-MountV
UserPermissions = { Everyone = READ_ONLY }
ShareSubdirectories = 1
PathAndShareName = { "\\share2" = share2, "\\share3" = share3 }
AccessBasedEnumeration = 1
)