Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help me to create agents correctly

vcfko
Level 2

Hi guys
I am a newbie.

I don't understand how to create agent correctly.

I need to manage some application but as example I tried to implement the following exercise: Creating a file like as "FileOnOFF"

I created a new type

type FILE_CREATION (
        static str ArgList[] = { PathName }
        str PathName
)

then with Veritas Operation Manager

I created the resource group related the new type
so that in main.cf I have

FILE_CREATION create_file01 (
                PathName = "/opt/my_tmp/file1"
                )

then I copy ScriptAgent into /opt/VRTSvcs/bin/FILE_CREATION/FILE_CREATIONAgent

(I have renamed ScripAgent file in FILE_CREATIONAgent and I put it in a /opt/VRTSvcs/bin/FILE_CREATION/ folder)

Then
I have create the following files :  online; offline;  monitor;

and I put them under the following folder:
/opt/VRTSvcs/bin/FILE_CREATION/   

#!/bin/sh
RESNAME=$1
PATHNAME=$2
touch $PATHNAME
touch /opt/my_tmp/file2
exit 0

#!/bin/sh
RESNAME=$1
PATHNAME=$2
/bin/rm -rf $PATHNAME
exit 0

monitor

#!/bin/sh
RESNAME=$1
PATHNAME=$2
if [ -f $PATHNAME ]; then exit 110;
else exit 100;
fi

After that when I try to put online my resource the following error message appears:

Operation failed

Command(s):
Cluster cluster1:
hares -online create_file01 -sys hostname
VCS WARNING V-16-1-10268 Agent FILE_CREATION for resource create_file01 failed on system hostname.

Could you help me to undersatnd what's wrong?

10 REPLIES 10

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited