cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Check VCS Failover and Primary node.

99cassano
Level 3

Hi,

I am a newbie to VCS and is learning by setting up trial version in two VMs.

How do i check in command that the VCS has been failed over? and after failover, which one is the Primary node?

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

See answers below:

so I should use "hastop -local -evacuater" when I do VCS failover test? Is this how the real world is doing when they have to do to test disater scenario"?

Normally you test by downing a node (like power down system board or pull power cable, or for a VM you can just power VM off)

I didn't setup any service group in my test environment yet so when I do hastop -local, the Cluster Service will be online on the failover node automatically.

This is because ClusterService isa special service group which VCS always tries to keep online

So, if I define the service group resoures for an application later, will hasstop -local -evacuate safetly failover everything to the second node?

Yes

Mike

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Use "hastatus -sum"

This should show the service group as faulted on one node and should so ONLINE on the other node.

Mike

99cassano
Level 3

Thanks Mike.

One additional question here. If i don't want to create fault in one node to test the fault over, do i invoke hastop -local in one node? However, in this case if you do hastatus -sum after failover, both nodes will still be showing ONLINE. So where I should look for the current primary node is? 

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

To test failover, you can just use "hagrp -switch grp_name -to sysname" and "hastatus -sum" should show the group is now online on the other system.