cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for root cause on my a resource is offine.

Nu-B
Level 2

I recently noticed that I have a resource that is offline. I am fairly new to VCS and I'm looking to track down how I can determine when and why this resource is offline. VCS seems to have a ton of logs and I'm not sure which one will benefit me in my search for the root cause. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

I don't agree these messages are normal - they are of severity ERROR, not INFO, so the agent is exiting abnormally - i.e crashing.  This indicates an error with VCS or the SDRF agent, not SRDF itself as if there is a problem with SRDF, the SRDF agent should report a problem, the SRDF agent should not shutdown.

Some possible causes are:

1. SRDF Agent has memory leak
  2. Lots of resources and/or service groups (more than 200) and so "had" daemon is busy
  3. System is too busy so "had" can not get enough system resources

It could be a one-off so, to restart agent you can use:

haagent -start SRDF -sys sys_name_on_which_agent_has_stopped

But if it stops again, then you need to investigate the cause which will probably involve logging a call with Symantec, unless there are obvious system resource problems on your nodes.

Mike

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Wally_Heim
Level 6
Employee

Hi Nu-B,

VCS logs are fairly straight forward.  The main process of VCS is call HAD.  It logs all of its activities in the engine_A.txt file.  It keeps two older copies in the engine_B.txt and engine.C.txt files.  This file keeps entries from all cluster nodes that are running and visable at the time an entry is made into the log.