cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regarding Apache agent

priyanka3rdfeb
Level 3

Hi experts,

I am very new to VCS. I have tried setting up the cluster with your help. Now I want to create sample apache servicegroup. I am bit confused between Servicegroup, resources and agent. I can see reference of  IP resource also and IP agent also. I dont know whether

I should configure an apache servicegroup and add IP, mount , filisystem resources into it

or

I should configure an apache agent having IP , mount.filesystem agents.

Could you please guide me.

Thanks a lot in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

mikebounds
Level 6
Partner Accredited

You said:

I dont know when should I configure agent and when should i configure resource

You don't really configure agents.  For each resource type in your main.cf, like IP, Mount and Apache, there is a single "Agent" process that controls all resources of that type and this agent knows how to start, stop, monitor and clean resources of that type, so a Mount agent knows to run "mount" command to start a mount and the Apache agent knows to run "httpd" binary to start an Apache resource.

So first you create a service group - this is a container for your resources so that these resources move as one unit from one node to another and it is what resources are contained in the service group that define what the service groups controls, so if the service group contains Apache IP and Mount resources it means the service group controls Apache and Oracle Mount and IP resource would mean it would control Oracle.

Then you create resources of a particular type in your service group, like Apache, and configure resource attributes like "httpdDir" and "ConfigFile" for each resource.  So for a resource of type Mount you would configure attributes like MountPoint and BlockDevice and for multiple Mountpoints you would create multiple resources, one for each Mount.