cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time taken for failover

abhijain1
Level 0

Hi,

I am new to VCS and am planning to use it for my COBOL based application. I want to have two servers in my prod environment Primary and Secondary. I want to support Automatic failover without disconnecting the users who access the COBOL application through putty. Could you please help me answer these questions:

(1) When I deploy code in Production, will I deploy only once on the virtual IP or I need to deploy on both Primary and Secondary separately?

(2) Once VCS is running and primary fails, will users get disconnected?

(3) Will the failover to the Secondary seemless or I still need to re-mount the storage, interfaces etc again on the secondary server?

(4) I dont want to use automatic script for failover as data which was in the buffer when server crashed is also critical. Hence if a DR type failover is required, I want to do it manually as I dont want to lose any data. Is it possible?

Many thanks,

A

1 REPLY 1

CliffordB
Level 4
Employee

Hi A.

I don't have any feedback for COBOL in particular as I could not find any documentation anywhere in regards to how to cluster COBOL (using any cluster software).   So, here is what I can tell you about clustering generic applications.

1) Deploy code in clusters: It is possible to deploy either on shared storage, or, locally.  I prefer installing locally as it allows rolling upgrades for applications that support such.  Typically:

• Code installed on each node.  If the install is cluster aware, use a virtual IP and/or virtual DNS name.  Never the hostname.
  • Data files are configured to be placed on shared storage.  It might be necessary that you may have to fail the data storage to the second node in order to install the software/code on the second node.
  • Data files are placed on a separate disk group.
  • Zone the storage so all nodes can see the disks.