cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Veritas High Availability 5.0 Data Loss & Split-Brain scenario

bob1_skew
Level 2

Hi,

I am relatively new to Veritas Clustering and have experience of only MSCS clusters and AutoStart and maybe this forum can answer a few questions I have.

I have been given the the task of managing a set of clusters that have the following high level configuration and I have a few questions maybe this forum could answer.

• 4 VCS Clusters hosted on IBM Blades in two data centers - 1 node of each cluster in each data center
  • Veritas HA 5.0 (VCS and Storage Foundations); Windows Server 2003 Standard
  • Private and Public VLANs sahre the same physical network
  • IP Heartbeats go over two dedicated fibre links between two switches on the chassis
  • SAN based storage. Each host zoned and masked to LUNs on each site - each volume has a mirror from each site - access to the remote array via Inter Switch Links. Brocade Switches with ISL trunking; IBM arrays;

My questions are:

1. Is my understanding of an ISL link failure correct with VCS/VXIO?

For example, a failure situation occurs where all ISL communications are lost between sites while the application is active in the Production site. In this case, all resource groups will continue to function normal as the storage is alive at the production site – no data being replicated to the DR site at this point as all ISL links are down. 

An hour after this ISL link failure occurs, the production node (or indeed site) experiences a failure which causes its groups to fail over to the DR node. At this point, what does the DR node do? Will it bring this group online and import the disks from the DR array and thus be missing the last hour’s transactions since no ISLs where available to update the remote array?

What setting within VCS/VXIO controls automated site failover and is there anything to handle this scenario as this effectively results in data loss.