Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DLO 7.6 Dedupe Backups vs Non-Dedup Backups

InsentraCameron
Level 4
Partner Accredited Certified

Hello,

I am still fairly new to DLO 7.6. I have a few questions:

1. If I am reading correctly a profile configured for dedupe cannot be configed for local backups (LUDF). Is this correct?

2. Non-dedupe backups require Admin service + maintenance service. Is this correct?

3. Dedupe backups require Admin service + Dedupe service. Is this correct?

4. A user can have either a profile for figured for dedupe or non-dedupe backups (LUDF and NUDF). What would be the use cases for each?

Cheers,

Cameron

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

1) No as a LUDF is needed when DeDupe profile is configured. DeDupe occurs only when the file is completely new, meaning the first revision of the file will be deduplicated. Once this file changes, the backup mode switches from DeDupe to Delta. And Delta mode requires the DUDF (Desktop User Data Folder) as the delta changes are first computed on the DUDF and then copied over to the NUDF (Network User Data Folder).

2 & 3) The DLO Admin service & the maintenance service are required always whether DeDupe is being used or not. If DeDupe is being used, then the DeDupe services come into the picture.

4) DeDupe helps in saving the network storage space (and thereby reduces the data transfer over the network) & is beneficial especially when multiple copies of a file exists across clients.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

VJware
Level 6