cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Emptying or Clearing the Desktop User Data Folder

penn-gos
Level 3

Hello, experts and colleagues.  I'm new to the DLO so I don't know as much about the product as I'd like.  I'm hoping you can answer my question and/or offer a solution.

We have set our DLO options to use the Desktop User Data Folder, as well as the NUDF, so we can ue Delta transfer, work offline, etc., etc.  However, a couple users have recently reached storage capacity on their hard drives.

I can't find any documentation for this, but my assumption had been that, once files had been copied to the NUDF, they would be removed from the DUDF because now they are safely stored on a network folder, and the originals are on the file system, why would you need them locally?  This does not seem to be the case.

Other than giving these users new drives with a greater storage capacity, do we have any options?  Is it possible to continue using these laptops in this way?  Have others come across this?

Thank you,

Patrick Burnett

Hitachi America, Ltd.

7 REPLIES 7

VJware
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Do you have revisions configured for the DUDF ? Have a look at each backup selection in the DLO profile and check if revisions are configured for the DUDF or not. This KB may help - http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO23701

And how much data is being backed up for these users ? Is the amount of backed up data for each user more than the free space of the C:\ volume or more than the total space of the C:\ volume itself ?

NeerThadarai
Level 5

By default your data on the DLO would reside on C:\documents and Settings\userprofile\localsettings\application data\symantec\dlo\.lm (For windows XP) and for windows 7 it would be C:\users\userprofile\local\appdata\symantec\dlo\.lm

Under this you would find all the local copies of data on the local machine.

Three things you need to check here