cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Archive from domino and Exchange to same EV archive?

Sarah_Seftel1
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Hi,

I have a customer with "read only" domino server (3k mailboxes on it with mails until December 2012) and 3k active exchange server with mails from January 2013 until now.

That means that every user have 2 mailboxes, active one on Exchange and old emails on Domino.

Customer is interested in getting rid of Domino from the environment, and I'm trying to see if there is a way to archive same user mailbox from both Domino & Exchange to same archive.

My guess is that it is not possible.

What would you suggest to do in this case to avoid 2 archives for each user?

Sarah

5 REPLIES 5

GertjanA
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hello Sarah,

I have no experience with archiving from Domino, but my initial guess is that this is not possible.

In the VAC, there is an entry for Domino Mailbox, and one for Exchange Mailbox. That implies there will be seperate archives. YOu might be able to archive the domino mailboxes, and then grant access to the domino archives to the respective users, but that is a long-shot.

I am not sure if it is at all possible to export the domino mailboxes (to PST would be great :) ) so you can import them using PST-import, but that seems to be not possible. There seem to be some converters commercially available, but that obviously has a pricetag.

You could archive Domino to a seperate EV-install (VM, SQL and EV on same box?), then export the archives to PST, then import them again in the live EV environment?

Perhaps check with a partner, or your Symantec contact what other options they know of.

Regards. Gertjan

Sarah_Seftel1
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Thanks Gertjan,

I am not that familiar with Domino archiving myself, but like you, I think it will be 2 separated archives.

I will bring all options to the customer and we will continue based on his decision.

Sarah