cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EV 2007 for Exchange 2003 - gauging perfromance gains - question

j-mo
Level 4

Hello,

I've been archiving with EV 2007 SP4 for about 6 months now.  The last month I've really gotten agressive with archiving due to disk I/O problems with my exchange server.  The results are that things are running better but still not optimal.  What I've realized as that while my mailboxes/stores have been reduced drastically I still have so many items in Exchange.  I'm wondering if others have seen this and if they've turned/removed off shortcuts - maybe forcing users to seach the vault using their browser?

In reading best practices for Exhchange performace they reccomend no more than 5000 itmes in a mailbox.  I've got some users with 200-300MB mailboxes but 30,000 items.  I wonder how much archiving is really helping???

Just wanted to get some high level thoughts.

Thanks for any input-

8 REPLIES 8

MichelZ
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified
Hi Deleting shortcuts certainly helps out here. We are deleting them after 2 years. I think usually mails which are this old are not required very often anymore... Cheers Michel

cloudficient - EV Migration, creators of EVComplete.

MichelZ
Level 6
Oh, and you might want to defrag your store after aggressive archiving, this *could* help a little bit, too...

j-mo
Level 4

Oh, and you might want to defrag your store after aggressive archiving, this *could* help a little bit, too...

vcare Infosystems AG - www.vcare-it.com || Enterprise Vault Tools - www.evtools.net

Thanks.  Yeah I just moved all my mailboxes to new stores.  We need almost 24-7 uptime so I can't dismount exchange stores but movign to anew store defrags nicely.

Regarding shortcuts - I can set the shortcut life in EV?  Can you point me towards that?

THanks

MichelZ
Level 6