cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EV upgrade 2007 SP2 to 8.0 SP4

rnt123
Level 5
Are there any “gotchas” or better practices when upgrading clusters (2 nodes, using Microsoft Clustering) beyond what is mentioned in Upgrade_Instructions.htm? This is from 2007 SP2 to 8.0 SP4.

There are 3 clusters, and I only want to upgrade one as a pilot, I want to be sure that users on the other clusters are not affected. Is it OK to have different versions in the same site / directory?

Will users on the upgraded servers be able to take advantage of the new features, even if the other servers are not upgraded yet?

Is it necessary to upgrade the Enterprise Vault OWA and RPC Extensions if they will not be used to archive new items? The only thing they may do is check existing items in the vault.

Thanks!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

TonySterling
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

One big gotcha has to do with the registry.
After upgrade of Microsoft Cluster Server (MSCS) Cluster node Enterprise Vault (EV) registry values are reverted to pre-upgrade values
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/323904.htm

You need to do them all at once if this is one site.  I would also recommend upgrading OWA as well to keep it all on the same version.

Regards,

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

TonySterling

One big gotcha has to do with the registry.
After upgrade of Microsoft Cluster Server (MSCS) Cluster node Enterprise Vault (EV) registry values are reverted to pre-upgrade values
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/323904.htm

You need to do them all at once if this is one site.  I would also recommend upgrading OWA as well to keep it all on the same version.

Regards,

Nick_White
Level 6
Employee

>>There are 3 clusters, and I only want to upgrade one as a pilot, I want to be sure that users on the other clusters are not affected. Is it OK to have different versions in the same site / directory?