cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EV6 restore and Indexes question

orik
Level 3

Hello all,

We've migrated our EV6 to EV9, after we were sure that we finished this long migration, I have deleted all EV6 server LUNs from the storage to reclaim space. After a few months we have discovered that few archives were not migrated surprise and we need to restore the whole server...

I have very little knowledge about EV, so I'll really appreciate anyone's help:

This is a physical server with the operating system and EV installation still in place, but it lacks all its other drives. The EV database is on a seperate SQL server and it still sitting there untouched since we shut down this old EV server in May this year. I have recreated the Stores and Indexes LUNs and attached them to the server and started the restore. I have noticed that the Index folders retoration is taking forever since there are a lot of small files and the backup software needs to locate them on the tapes.

So my question is: Is there an option not to restore the indexes and start the EV services without them, maybe let it rebuild them or even use it without indexes at all? All I need to do is export 3 or 4 archives to PST and forget about this server..

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Prone2Typos
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

I have some long time expirence with EV6. IME you do not need teh indexing service running at all or any indexes to use the Export archive feature. I would not even bother starting the Indexing service.

I hope this went well. If you need further assistnace please let us know and if you do not please flag the posting which helped you to resolve this issue so that people trying to assist can assist those most in need.

Regards.

j

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

MichelZ
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified