cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enterprise Vault 7sp3 Storage Move

achpatil
Level 3

Hello guys,

I am new to Symantec Enterprise Vault and have been given this piece of work to move some Enterprise Vault Servers from one location to another.

We have 2 EV servers in 2 different locations but belong to the same site. We are consolidating our data centers and need to move these servers from 2 offices into 2 data centers. They are currently running EV 7 SP3 (I know they are few versions behind). But at this point we just need to move them to the new DCs.

A lift and shift would have been easy but we have an issue with the storage. The backend storage is on SAN which is shared between a few servers. So we need to copy the EV Storage to the new datacenter.

I have a few things in mind. I was wondering if you guys let me know if it will work.

Step 1 - Copy offline all the EV partitions and index data from the exisiting server to the SAN in the new DC in the exact same folder structure that is present on the server. (Can I just do a Rich Copy online or do I need the EV services to be down when I copy these?) 

Step 2 - Bring all EV services down and copy all the data for one final time. Shift the servers including the SQL backend to the new Data Center. Present the SAN storage to the EV servers. This will have the same folder and drive strucutre as the old server settings.

Step 3 - Start all the services with the new storage in place.

Does that sound something that is achieveable

I also need to know about P2V of EV server. Is it a good idea? Will there be any performance issues?

Thanks

A

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

LCT
Level 6
Accredited Certified

Hi achpatil,

1. Yes you should copy the closed vault store partitions first and you don't need to put EV into read only mode for this and there's no changes occuring, You should put EV into Read-Only mode when copying active (open) partitions.