cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Enterprise Vault mail archiving options

barraed1
Level 2

Hi all

I would like to expouse my business case, looking for any alternative using EV that would meet my company needs. I am not a technical expert, so I will try to explain it in my words.

We are currently looking for an email archive solution, but, we are NOT looking for a "journaling archive" tool that log all the send/received email communications and meet the regulatory ediscovery requirements, No, we are looking for an email archive solution that allow us to periodically (daily) send the emails from the personal archive folders from users to a secondary archive (EV), allow us to classify those emails as records and apply a retention policy according to their classification.

e.g. let's imagine that I am a regular user from R&D department. As part of my duties I review my mailbox every day. Then, I move to my exchange personal archive folder those emails that I consider relevant. Just to clarify, my retention policy in the default mailbox is 60 days, but in the archive folder is 7 years. Some of my emails should have a retention policy of 15 years, but as I mentioned before, I have a corporate defined 7-years retention policy. So it means that, all my relevant emails would be automatically deleted when they complete 7 years in the archive, but I should keep some of them during 15 years.

As you can see, we are avoiding to apply a journaling concept, we are more interested in apply a periodical mailbox archiving task that move the emails stored in the personal archive folders to the EV archive. And off course, a end-user oriented solution that allow users to see their emails in the EV archive directly in the same outlook interface.

what do you think, is this escenario feasible with EV?

Thanks

4 REPLIES 4

GertjanA
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Hello,

The short answer is yes, possible.