Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evault administration questions

iNOK_Support
Level 3
Partner
Hi there!
I'm new to EVault. It fell on my lap when the person in charge of it run away in dispair. :)
I looking for your help to enlighten me about some product (EVault for Exchange) adminstration/management questions.

I would like to know if it is possible to (and how):
  1. Have different Stores and/or partions for different years, like a physical file separation by year
  2. Permanently remove/delete an achived item from the Store to recover the space: release to Outlook/Exchange, remove from Outlook and also from the EVault permanently
  3. Move items between Stores/Partitions for exemplo to achieve the desired result on 1

The EVault version in use is 7.5 SP1 (7.5.1.1397) installed on a Windows Server 2003 R2 SP2 and with Exchange Server 2003 SP2.

Thanks in advance!
Regards,
Raul Costa
8 REPLIES 8

WiTSend
Level 6
Partner
1.  You can have different store partitions based on date (it can be automatically set).
2.  It's called expiry and it is based on the retention categories.  When items expire the space is reclaimed.
3.  This is not easily achievable.  But you can set the environment to be more granular moving forward.

I strongly recommend that you look into the EV Administrator training.  It is via Symantec's Virtual Academy and would make your life much eaiser.

MichelZ
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

1. This depends.
-> It is not possible to archive all e-mail which was sent/received in 2010 to a seperate partition
-> It is possible to have everything which gets archived in a specific timeframe to be in a seperate partition
     -> Just close your partition on 31.12.2010 and open a new one
     -> This then writes everything which gets archived in 2011 into the new partition
     -> Then close this partition on 31.12.2011
     -> and so on ;)