Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File System Archiving and DFS

AlanJ
Level 4
Partner Accredited Certified

Hi,

I have a question regarding FSA in an environment that has DFS. I am still relatively new to EV and it was recently discovered that a customer that has FSA installed, also has a DFS replicated environment.

I have read the KB article that states this is not recommended, but apart from the obvious stated but the article, I would like to know what implications this would have from a user perspective?

The reason I ask is that some users have expereinced issues which appears to be permissions related in that a login prompt appears when he or she tries to access a file. The permissions are correct on the share yet the user is unable to access the file at all.

Could this be related to the aforementioned issue or could that be something else?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Prone2Typos
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

This is a somewhat strange issue. the issue sounds to me like what you would see if you were using an alias that was not in the trusted stites..... but the EV server was. This could explain why you have a different result when browsing to it manually vs it being progarmatically hit. To confirm this is a webreqest Fiddler2 (a free utiltiy) would pick it up. Any other type of request you may need something like wireshark to capture it. It really feels like IIS to me though .... as this is the behavior you would get under the situation described.

That stated... I know this posting is arround for a while... if you sorted the issue please update the posting so people seeking to provide assistance do not enter this if it no longer requres it. If someone here helped you fix it... please flag their posting so we know .

Many thanks and keep us posted please.

Regards.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

JesusWept3
Level 6

does it happen for all files or some files?