cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to unvault items to external drive and restore in Remote office

AVerb2
Level 2

I am new to EV having recently taken over administration of the software from someone who has left the company. We are/were only doing file archiving but the system was largely abandoned earlier this year. The previous administrator unarchived most of the informaiton back to their original servers, with the exception of 1 remote office in california that didn't have enough space. The service is shutdown in a way that no additional archiving is going on but users in that office can still retrieve vaulted items. The way i'm told other vaulted items were restored in remote offices was by using a utiility (?FSAutility?), dumping all the archived files from a particular server onto the disk of the archive server in NY, putting those files on an external drive and shipping it to the remote office and then using another command (possibily FSAUtility again) to copy back the data to its original location. This process worked for 2 of the remote offices.

I try to use the following command to get a dump of data but get the generic error below:

fsautility -t -f -s \\cafilesrv1\data -d \\nyarchivesrv1\h$\data071612\cafilesrv1\data -l 0

FSA Data Mover Utility.
Symantec Enterprise Vault.
Copyright (c) 2008. Symantec Corporation.

Restore files
Source : \\cafilesrv1.domain.com\data
Destination : \\nyarchivesrv1.domain.com\h$\data071612\cafilesrv1\data
Generating file list for processing...
Total restore job dispatch... 0%
Error: Error in the application.

There are no Event view messages and no XML file is generated. If i use the -r switch it does produce a report listing files but then abruptly stops the listing in the middle of a file path.