cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Open and close partition?

doctortt
Level 6
I'm new to EV. Within a vault data store, why do you need to close a partition and create a new one? Can't one partition get the jobs done?
12 REPLIES 12

Liam_Finn1
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified
Doctortt,

Yes one partition can get the job done but just think of how hard it is to search all of one big vault for years of data.

If you rollover the vault partition into smaller groups (i suggest monthly or quartly depending on the size of your environment) then searching is much faster, it is much easier for you as the admin to manage and track data.

Liam

doctortt
Level 6
Ohhh I see. Thanks a lot.

sym_se_support0
Level 4

Hello, just to make clear here.  The partition is not searched it is the index.  The partition size should be determined by backup time/window and not for search results.

Whether there are 1 or 1000 vault store partitions the search is determined by the index regardless of the partition.

Close a partition when the size is un-manageable for backups or when for managerial purposes.  As Liam was saying possibly by date, creating a new partition each year maybe the way you want to manage your archived data.

Liam, maybe I misunderstood your reply but I believe you may be speaking of index rollovers and not partition closes.  Please explain further why you think creating multiple partitions would have any effect on searches.

doctortt
Level 6
Just want to get this clear - if you close a partition, new data cannot be written, right? What is the purpose of the partition? Just to make backup more managable?

Grog
Level 3
There is also one other "gotcha", if you are archiving to a Centera, then you would only have one partition and would have no need to change, unless you are migrating to a new Centera.

sym_se_support0
Level 4
Hello, you asked: