Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Space held by existing pending items

Nick007
Level 3
Partner

Hi

I am still new with Symantec Enterprise Vault and I need some help. I am doing archiving on just 3 mail accounts with this archiving policy:
Archive items when they are older then: 2 Months
Archive items until mailbox available storage reaches: 30 %

Now when I run report I get information that one of mail accounts have 101525 (I guess this value is in kB and that this is about 100 MB) Space held by existing pending items.
What is Space held by existing pending items?
For archiving I use Centera and one of option is set:
Remove safety copies: Never

What is safety copies means?
I have just one Centera so I cannot replicate that Centera.
Also on another two mail accounts I have some values.

Also on report I have values Total size of archivable items and Size of items ready to archive and I do not know what this values means and if someone can explain me I would appreciate that.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

TonySterling
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Safety Copy is the pending mail item in Exchange.  If this is set to never you will never get space savings in Exchange.  If you can not back up the Centera what will you do in the event that you lose data in the Centera?  Honestly, that is a bad idea!

For explaination about the report look here:
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/273162.htm

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

TonySterling

Safety Copy is the pending mail item in Exchange.  If this is set to never you will never get space savings in Exchange.  If you can not back up the Centera what will you do in the event that you lose data in the Centera?  Honestly, that is a bad idea!

For explaination about the report look here:
http://seer.entsupport.symantec.com/docs/273162.htm

Nick007
Level 3
Partner