Shortcut deletion by default is based on the date an item was archived, and not on the sent/received date.
Would you still think the shortcut should get deleted then?
"Delete shortcuts that exceed the specified age. Enterprise Vault uses the modified date or archived date to determine the age of a shortcut. You can specify which date to use on the Storage Expiry tab of Site Properties."