cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using FSAUtility.exe -m -s \\source -d \\destination is like watching grass grow. It is slow

knoxvegas
Level 4
I'm running Enterprise Vault 8 SP2 on Windows 2003 Enterprise.  I"m in the process of moving my placeholders to a replacement server and it's slow then you know what.  I'm using this command to move the placeholders FSAUtility.exe -m -s \\source -d \\destination.  It could take a month at the rate this is going to move the placeholders.  I think this is unacceptable and is serious flaw with EV.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

Please help
8 REPLIES 8

Rob_Wilcox1
Level 6
Partner
I'm no expert but...

How much data are you trying to move, and are the source and destination physically close to each other?
Working for cloudficient.com

knoxvegas
Level 4
We have archived about 1.5 tb of data.  It seems to take an average 4 to 6 seconds each placholder move.   The servers are on a GB network.   The fsautility is also a single thread utility, so you can't run multiple instances of the utility without it crapping out.

Darren_Locke
Level 6
Employee
I don't know if this will help you, but EV8 SP3 which is due out imminently will make this operation multi-threaded so it will improve performance.

One of the reasons for the slowness is that in the background the archived file is being exported and imported in to a new archive as well as the placeholder being moved. This was intended for when you needed to move placeholders and also move content to a new EV server. EV9 is likely to include enhancements to FSAUtility so that if source and destination are being managed by the same EV server and the same Vault Store, then the placeholder will be moved without the need for export/import.

Darren

knoxvegas
Level 4
I ended up going with robocopy to migrate the placeholders over to the new file server.  Basically it will recall the placeholder then copy it over to the new file server.

J_Paul_Garcia