cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is Infoscale Availability from a layman point of view

hanu17trml
Level 1

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this Community and my requirement is to deploy my application along with Database (both might Inculde HA feature + Database may be Oracle with RAC) on RHEL. So, we wanted to try this on Veritas Cluster server now calling as Infoscale Availability.

From a layman point of view, can someone please explain me how Infoscale Availability can help in fulfilling my requirement?

Is it a kind of clustering software/solution which I need to purchase from Veritas and deploy on my Hardware and configure before installing my application and Database?

1 REPLY 1

matthewyee
Level 2
Employee

Hi @hanu17trml,

I'm a Veritas Technical Marketing Engineer, so hopefully, I can answer your question.

InfoScale Availability at its core is a bundle of services that monitor and orchestrate the high availability of an application.  More specifically, if you are delve down into the entire InfoScale Product Suite, it is a combination of Veritas Cluster Server and High Availability and Disaster Recovery.  

image.png

InfoScale High Availability (HA) and Disaster Recovery (DR) is a combination of Storage Foundation, VCS, and Agents specific to the monitoring of databases like Oracle.

You are probably already aware that Oracle provides an HA solution with Oracle RAC. Veritas works closely with Oracle to engineer interoperability between our respective product sets and officially certify compatibility.