cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5220 Appliances - Buffer Tuning & Throughput

SYMAJ
Level 6
Partner Accredited

Does anyone have any experience of tuning throughput on a 5220 Appliance ?

I note that the data buffers are set to 262144 (standard setting) and there are 30 of them.  Are you finding that these require tuning to achieve maximum throughput or are you simply leaving them set to default ?

I have a Virtual Master server at 7504 and a single 5220 acting as a media server attached to both SAN (for VMware integration) and a tape library containing 2 x LTO5 drives.  I am backing up VMware machines using the VMWARE policy type (SAN transport), physical machines using agents over the network and CIFS data using the NDMP policy type.

In addition, I am using AIR to replicate to a similar configuration for DR.

Before I start tuning I thought I would put this out there to discover what everyone else may have already found as best practice......

AJ 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

You can change the buffer sizes from the CLISH (or drop into the O/S and add the usual touch files)

I would set the SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS to 256kb (262144) but when doing this also set the SIZE_DATA_BUFFERS_DISK to what ever value you want (1048576 usually works OK), otherwise they will both use this setting - same goes for the number of buffers.

You can enable and disable compression when ever you like - but I would start with it disabled and see how it goes.

The 2.5.1b update is identical to the 2.5.1 update - only the installer has changed so you can take into account any feedback that has already been provided from that one so far.

Hope this helps

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Mark_Solutions
Level 6

Best left as they are I have found though if your tapes have been used elsewhere with a different block size they will need to be relabelled to change them to use the 256kb size