cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5240 - Any experience with driving tape from these new models?

elanmbx
Level 6

Does anyone have any real-world experience driving tape drives from these new appliances?  Presumably with the additional horsepower they *should* be able to drive more concurrent tape-out?

I'm trying to determine a reasonable number of tape drives for a new library and we are going to be replacing all of our old 5230s in the not-too-distant future.  I would rather get the numbers right now than mess with reconfiguring the config of either the 5240s or the library in the future.

Any guidance from those folks out in the trenches?

2 REPLIES 2

sdo
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Certified

I've no direct experience, just some thoughts.

My initial question is... are you changing your current backup and duplication model in a notable to significant way?  If you are not changing the backup and duplication storage type and "flow" model to any degree, and so I guess more a case of performing a hardware refresh for continued long term support, then I might be tempted to stick with your current model on the tape side of things... certainly if you don't have time to test, and especially if you cannot afford the risk of "testing" against production backups.

You haven't given us a brief of what your current tape model is.

1) Are you able to describe?

2) What is SSO'd with what and how many etc?

3) Are you using your current appliance for only MSDP or only AdvancedDisk, or a mix?

4) If a mix of MSDP vs. Adv.Disk, then what percentages/ratios of each?

5) Does everything get duplicated to tape, or only some?

6) How did you arrive at your current tape topology?

If you look at the comparison QRC sheets here:

NetBackup Appliance Comparison Quick Reference Cards
http://www.veritas.com/docs/000115783

...then when I look at this I see: