cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5240 Appliances - V3.0 - Vaulting Tape Backups

SYM-AJ
Level 5

I have 2 x 5240 Appliances configured accross 2 sites, all functioning well - using AIR between the 2 domains.

On a monthly basis the SLP in effect replicates to the remote site, imports and duplicates to tape.

Vault is licensed and in place.

What is the best way to produce a picking list for the tapes produced for the Monthly backups ?  I am not experienced with Vault, but from looking at it I don't want to duplicate, I want to make a catalog backup, I don't want to eject (or do I ?) but i DO want to produce the reports.

I MUST perform one of the Duplication, Catalog or Eject functions in order to have a valid profile.

On Windows Masters I have trigerred a batch file running 'bpimagelist -media -hoursago xx -idonly' and not used Vault at all.  My master servers here are both 5240 appliances.

Best approach ?

AJ

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

This issue was finally resolved after many weeks with support.

Issue seems to be related to DNS, but could not directly locate the problem.

To fix we did two things:

edit the main.cf file to put square brackets [xxx] around the relayhost entry - apparently this stops it checking the mx record in a lookup.

add the domain where the email servers reside to the resolv.conf file as a search domain.

After the above changes I restarted postfix and did a postfix flush - everything then burst into life.

The emails are now sending, but the nslookup of the mail server with the type set to mx still fails !!

We can (and always could) ping the email server, and do an nslookup of it with type a.

Strange one but the problem is no longer with us so 'sort of' happy.

AJ

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

RiaanBadenhorst
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

You could just run this 

Media Written Report