cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use NB appliance 5230 as just a storage unit and not as Master or media server

Bharani_B
Level 3

I am seeing some notes as we can configure appliance as master server or media server as it has its inbuilt OS (linux based). I am confused with this statement as I am new to these appliances and their understanding. If I already had a windows master server and i just want to connect this appliance as storage unit, isnt it possible? are there really those super benefits observed when we use an appliance as Master or media server also? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

@Bharani_B, are you perhaps working for a reseller with PartnerNet access? 
If so, the is online training available on PartnerNet.

If not, find out where the closest Veritas training center is and book yourself on Appliance training. 
In the meantime, contact your nearest Veritas partner with skilled Appliance personnel and book an hour or 2 for a 'crash course'. 

Lots of documentation available:
NetBackup 52xx Appliance Documentation : http://www.veritas.com/docs/000002217

You can manage Appliance Master using Java Admin Console - same as any Windows Master server. Install the Windows Java Admin Console that matches Appliance NBU version on your desktop.
You will need the password for the 'admin' user.

For command-line (OS-level) access, you will need a utility with ssh connection access - most of us use Putty (free utility that can be downloaded and installed on your desktop). 
Once logged on as admin, see NetBackup 52xx and 5330 Appliance Command Reference Guide

Appliance most definely has an OS - latest Appliance software has Redhat Linux. 
I am not aware of any kind of Windows OS format for Linux servers.
OpsCenter should always be installed on a separate server - never on a Master.