cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Database server is down, check for low disk space(4005006)

Plusnet
Level 2

Hi,

I am very new to the Netbackup appliance so please bear with me

I was adding new backups to the device, following documentation from someone who no longer works for us. I misconfigured a backup so that it was backing up to something called diskstage (a BasicDisk) which subsequently filled up.

I noticed this once random backups started failing, fixed it and expired the images I did not need using bpexpdate.

However, this did not free any space (the cleanup jobs were failing but i do not have access to the error any more) and now, when I try and do anything I get an error something along the lines of:

database system error - Database server is down, check for low disk space(4005006)

Now, I am pretty sure from reading many posts here, that the database has shut itself down to preserve data integrity. Everything says "free up some space and start it again"

What I can't find is any documentation on how you free up disk space or similar, thus allowing me to start the database again and delete whatever is filling the disk up using the conventional tools

Can you point me in the direction of how you access the filesystem directly on the appliance? Is there a way of doing it via the CLI? Maybe a way of mounting it up somewhere else?

I just want to compress enough logs and such that I can start the database again, at while point the automatic management should clear it down.

Josh

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

Image Cleanup has probably cleaned up the expired images. 

You can try to stop and restart NBU with:

netbackup stop
(wait for all processes to stop)
netbackup start
(wait for all processes to start)
Check that NBU is running: 
bpps -x

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

andrew_mcc1
Level 6
   VIP