cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Netbackup 5200

mday300
Not applicable

Hi,

I have a new 2500 just been delivered, I have no other netbackup software or devices. Do I need to install a master server and if so what software do I need to install and do I need to purchase it?

I know it's a stupid question, but it's been order by the head of IT and I have no experience of this device.

TIA

Mark

7 REPLIES 7

dedupe
Level 3

I would ask your manager about the project and implementation plan. Do you have any backup software that you use already?

Burak

Backup_Aurther
Level 2

The NBU5200 is a self contained media server, storage, and deduplication all in one unit. 

Yes, you need set up a Netbackup Master server to use the NBU5200. You will probably need to get some trial license keys and the Netbackup software for the master server.

As Dedup said, "I would ask your manager about the project and implementation plan."

AbdulRasheed
Level 6
Employee Accredited Certified

Hi mday300,

Sorry to hear that you got an appliance but the actual project is unknown at the moment. As other guys have already mentioned, you need to know what your managers plan is...

Assuming that you use NetBackup for data protection, the appliance you got can use used as a media server with deduplication. It does come with an evaluation license to get you started.

You just need to follow the instructions in the poster that came with the device. All the software is pre-installed.

A quick resource I would recommend is to watch this video

Also additional documents if needed can be obtained here. Take a look at the resources tab.

Wish you the best.

Sebastian_Baszc
Level 5
Partner Accredited Certified

Hey Mate,

You have really 2 options at the moment.