cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommended Encryption option for NBU Appliance??

Tape_Archived
   VIP   

I think we have two options available to enable encryption on Netbackup Appliance 5240. I am using 5240 as media server.

1. Local Encryption provided by appliance itself - Manage > Host > Deduplication > Encryption - Enable

2. Use KMS to create a Key on appliance media server and backup will be encrypted using the key & controlled by Master Server

Which option is recommended or you prefer?? Please share the pros and cons of either option with respect to performance and dedupe rate. Please share your experience if you had to opt-out KMS or Appliance Encryption.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified

@Tape_Archived

You are correct - there is very little activity here from knowledgeable Appliance experts.

I will add my 2c with the following disclaimers:
1. I am not an Appliance expert
2. I am not an Encryption expert and have never been ask to assist with configuration.

IMHO - KMS is used for tape drives (LTO4 or later). So, if the customer has a requirement to have tapes encrypted, then KMS needs to be configured. 
There is short section in Appliance Security Guide:
https://www.veritas.com/content/support/en_US/doc/96220900-127024912-0/v97514945-127024912

As far as MSDP encryption is concerned, it will again come down to customer requirements - 'in flight' and/or 'at rest'. 

For 'in flight' encryption, I would look at this section in the Dedupe Guide: 
“To configure backup encryption on all client-side deduplication clients”.

If only 'at rest' MSDP encryption is required, I would look at :
“To configure backup encryption on a single host”.
Or no 1 in your opening post:
1. Local Encryption provided by appliance itself - Manage > Host > Deduplication > Encryption - Enable

HTH

View solution in original post

Tape_Archived
   VIP