cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vaulting confused me.. please help

jeorainc
Level 4

Hi all,

I am new to netbackup and recently I am implementing a 5230 appliance running at 2.6.0.1.

I am a bit confused with the "vaulting" feature. Pleas help.

Background: daily and weekly backup to MSDP. every week after a full backup to MSDP, I configured vaulting with deduplication and vault catalog (no eject) to a storage pool (e.g. Pool_week_1). So I got total 4 pools for 4 vaulting operation, once a week after the full backup to disk.

I got one tape library without any I/O slot (MAP in document I guess?). Total 48 slots inside and full of tape.

Everytime after vaulting, the tapes will be off-site to another location. Another batch of tapes within the same pool will insert to the slots.

The retention for the backup will be set to 3 months, for example.

I want to generate report for the off-site tapes. How to do so? there are reports for going off-site and going on-site, how can I define which tapes are off-site and which are on-site? Recently, if I ran a vault report, all reports shows nothing except the last report at the bottom of java admin console (I forgot the name atm..)

If, after 4 weeks the first batch of off-site tapes are back to the tape library again, but, the images inside are not yet expired, I want the duplication to continue on those tapes (assume still a lot of spaces on tape), how will the vaulting handle it?

I am just confused with this feature so my questions may be unclear..  any example or advice are appreciated in order to fulfill my requirement..

Objective:

once a week backup to tape

report to instruct users for tapes to off-site

report to instruct users for tapes to on-site

I guess I don't need 4 pools right? Just one pool is flexible enough in my opinion. Please advise.

9 REPLIES 9

Mark_Solutions
Level 6
Partner Accredited Certified

You do seem to have made complicated for yourself to be honest.