cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Computer appears as not protected

sa2
Level 4
Hi,
I'm new to nss, my client appear to be not protected, I have added location, protection level then within I add a policy with p recreated template on netbackup master server and add a computer and choose the protection level that I have created, but the client still appeared to be not protected and when I log in with user name and password I can't find backup icon only restore is a available
Another question can I allow users to restore files for computers that they own that their backup images was taken by Normal netbackup policy not through nss
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

JonHunt
   VIP   

Hi

So as part of the setup you create a template policy in NBU, what the attribuites are of the policy is up to you.

When you create the protection type(s) you associate this with the template policy(s).

In NSS (and logged in as a tenant) you then add a machine into the protection type you have setup. NSS then goes and looks to see if there is an existing policy for that tenant, if there is it add it in, if not it takes a copy of the template and creates a new one - this is the one you can run manually in NBU to create a backup rather than wait for it to run according to the shedule of the template policy you setup..

You don't need to create an Unmanaged Protection level (in NSS) to see a machines backups, these will appear automatically. The use of Unmanaged Protection level is so the status shows as 'Protected' rather than 'Unprotected' and is purely a visual function in NSS.

Have a play and let me know how you get on , it may be easier to jump on a webex with you next week to run through this.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

JonHunt
   VIP   

Hi