Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

About master server

Gogs
Level 3
Certified

Hello All,

I have a querry regarding my Master/media sever.

Is is a right thing to have master and media sever on Vm (Linux machine)

1:) What are the future problems which can arise due to this..?

2:) And what are the minimum requirment for having them on VM (linux machines)

Smiles,

VashishtG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Marianne
Level 6
Partner    VIP    Accredited Certified
Correct about disk storage on media servers. You can connect tape library to NDMP host and backup directly to tape.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

revarooo
Level 6
Employee

Have a look at this

DOCUMENTATION: Support for NetBackup 7.x in virtual environments (updated February 20, 2013).

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH127089

and this

NetBackup 7.x Operating System Compatibility List

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH76648

This Statement of Support for NetBackup in a Virtual Environment document describes the extent of support for NetBackup within a virtual environment. Ideally, every NetBackup configuration supported in a traditional physical environment would also be supported in any virtual environment without qualification. While that is our mission, it is not always possible.
Therefore, the purpose of this document is to:

* Clarify differences between NetBackup support in physical vs. virtual environments
* Describe general guidelines for support in virtual environments
* Describe impact upon specific NetBackup components: clients, servers, options, etc. * Provide references to related information

Virtual Systems Compatibility - Reference Article: TECH127089 Statement of Support for NetBackup in a Virtual Environment:

<http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH127089> 

NathanNieman
Level 6